Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login

Reset password

Andrew Rathbun Large Ensemble - Atwood Suites (2018)

15-05-2018, 17:42
2018 | Jazz | Vocal Jazz | FLAC / APE | Mp3

Title: Atwood Suites
Year Of Release: 2018
Label: Origin Records
Genre: Jazz, Vocal Jazz
Quality: Mp3 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks)
Total Time: 01:33:39
Total Size: 218 / 565 MB


1. Two Islands I 12:31
2. Two Islands II 5:50
3. Two Islands III 9:57

4. Power Politics I 6:30
5. Power Politics II 13:38
6. Power Politics III 9:41

1. Fractured 10:14
2. V 6:12
3. I 7:43
4. II 11:31

An ambitious, multifaceted composer, saxophonist and bandleader, Andrew Rathbun had used poetry as an inspirational catalyst for several recordings over the last 20 years. Particularly enamored by the works of famed novelist Margaret Atwood, Rathbun composed three suites for large ensemble featuring her poems and the unique voices of trumpeter Tim Hagans, drummer Bill Stewart and vocalists Luciana Souza and Aubrey Johnson, who vividly capture the imagery and emotions of Atwood's poetry. Rathbun's rich, multi-textured compositions and his use of the large ensemble as his musical voice was largely influenced by collaborations with the late, and legendary, trumpeter/composer Kenny Wheeler in the early 2000s. Wheeler's supple, dark tones floating over the group and Luciano Souza's voice bringing to life Atwood's poetry inspired Rathbun to more deeply explore these concepts.

Andrew Rathbun - composer, director

John O'Gallagher - Soprano, Alto Saxophones
Ben Kono - Alto Saxophone, Flute, Clarinet
Quinsin Nachoff - Tenor Saxophone, Clarinet
Dan Pratt - Tenor Saxophone, Flute, Clarinet
Carl Maraghi - Baritone Saxophone, Bass Clarinet

Seneca Black - Trumpet
Matt Holman - Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Dave Smith - Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Russ Johnson - Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Tim Hagans - Flugelhorn (1-6, soloist)

Alan Ferber - Trombone
Mike Fahie- Trombone
JC Sanford - Trombone
Chris Olness - Bass Trombone

Luciana Souza - Voice (Disc 1)
Aubrey Johnson - Voice (Disc 2)
Nate Radley - Guitar
Jeremy Siskind - Piano, Rhodes
David Ambrosio - Bass
Bill Stewart - Drums
Owen Howard - Drums (1,2 Disc 2)

Add comment